Services & Approach

Progressive Enhancement

My approach to building digital products is "Progressive Enhancement". That means: I use semantic HTML to build a most basic version of your website or web app, making sure their core features run on outdated systems. Then I check with the help of, e.g. JavaScript or CSS, whether the browser supports more sophisticated features. If that is the case I'll use these technologies to improve the visitor's experience. With this approach, not every website looks the same in every browser, but it's ensured that the website's core - its content - is available to all. Modern browsers are rewarded instead of obsolete browsers being penalized.

Good user experience

How do you feel when you visit a website you are not familiar with? Do you want to scan the website quicky in order to get the information or functionality you need - or do you want to admire the creativity, unusualness, and one-of-a-kind website navigation?

I assume it's the first intention. Then again, I can relate to the operator's reasoning behind it - often it's an attempt to communicate certain aspects of your brand or character. However, following "best practices" (established methods) is no sign of narrow-mindedness or a lack of creativity. To the contrary - best practices are of the formula for success when it comes to your digital product.

Let's talk about this and finding the balance between individuality and tested concepts in order to make your website or web app successful.

Smart website performance

The average website these days is about 3.4 MB in size (source). At the same time, pure desktop use of the Internet has decreased for years. Mobile use of the web and corresponding transfer rates are the "new normal". Therefore digital products need an intelligent strategy when it comes to loading assets - and I can help you to make the most of all available possibilities to avoid sending these 3.4 MB over the ether. For example detecting user contexts programmatically - and serving web resources just in the needed size and dimension.

Accessibility / Inclusive Design

Accessibility is more than making your digitial products useable for people with disabilities. At a time when more and more everyday activities take place on the Web and the average Internet user is getting older at the same time, inclusive and empathetic design leaves no one out in the cold - not even potential new target groups for you and your company. As access-for-all.ch aptly states: "[Accessibility] is an expression of competence in communication and technology and it signals that "customers are taken seriously".

Read more about my services regarding accessibility of websites and web apps.

Modularity and low maintenance

Creation is not the only cost factor in the life cycle of a website or app. If you add up maintenance and expansion expenses over a period of time, costs can reach or even exceed the initial investment. This is where successful technical planning in advance makes the difference: Does your project scale elegantly, or does every change require a rebuild of half the project? Here I will gladly help you save money . In the conception phase we consider future change and growth of your website right from the beginning.

A short overview of my services

Web Development (Frontend, Backend)

  • HTML, CSS
  • CSS conventions: BEM, ITCSS
  • Semantic Web / Accessibility / OnPage SEO
  • JavaScript
  • Vue.js
  • CMS ProcessWire
  • CMS Drupal 7 and 8
  • CMS Kirby
  • PHP Framework Laravel
  • Progressive Web Apps

Creation, management and freelancer network

  • Wireframes & Prototyping
  • Information architechture & Content Strategy
  • Agile Management & Development (Kanban, Certified ScrumMaster)
  • Technical project management
  • Creation and concept as a service on its own (regardless of who builds)
  • Network: recommendations for screen designers, concepters and web developers with specializations (e.g. WordPress, Typo3)

Progressive Enhancement

Ich arbeite nach dem Prinzip des Progressive Enhancement. Das heißt: Die elementare Version der Website wird so entwickelt, dass sie auf dem schlechtesten vorstellbaren System funktioniert. Anschließend wird mit technischen Mitteln geprüft, ob weitere Funktionen, z. B. JavaScript oder bestimmte CSS3-Eigenschaften, vom Browser unterstützt werden. Wenn das der Fall ist, werden diese Technologien genutzt, um den Funktionsumfang und die Darstellung der Website zu verbessern. Diese Vorgehensweise führt zwangsläufig dazu, dass eine Website nicht in allen Browsern gleich aussieht und die Benutzererfahrung wahrscheinlich abweicht – aber das Wesentliche, die Inhalte, verfügbar sind. Moderne Browser werden belohnt, anstatt dass veraltete Browser bestraft werden.

Gute UX / gute Benutzererfahrung

Wie geht es Ihnen, wenn Sie eine unbekannte Webseite besuchen? Wünschen Sie, schnell zu den von Ihnen gewünschten Informationen, Funktionen oder Produkten zu gelangen – oder bewundern sie die Kreativität, die in der unorthodoxen Haupt-Navigation oder unnachahmlich originellen Benutzerführung steckt?

Ich vermute, dass Sie zu der ersten Sorte gehören. Gleichzeitg kann ich den Wunsch als Auftraggeber einer Website verstehen, bestimmte Aspekte „wie noch niemand zuvor“ und „unverwechselbar“ zu gestalten. Allerdings ist die Anwendung von „Best Practices“ (etablierten Fachmethoden) kein Zeichen von Kreativitätsmangel und Spießigkeit - im Gegenteil: Häufig sogar eine Zutat im Erfolgsrezept Ihrer Website oder -applikation.

Lassen Sie uns darüber sprechen – denn wir finden gemeinsam die Balance aus Eigenständigkeit und erprobten Konzepten, die Ihren Kunden weiterhelfen und Ihr digitales Projekt gelingen lassen.

Intelligentes Ladezeitmanagement

Die durchschnittliche Website ist dieser Tage etwa 3,4 MB groß (Quelle). Gleichzeitig geht die Entwicklung von reiner Desktop-Nutzung des Internets seit Jahren weg - und hin zum Mobilen und entsprechenden Übertragungsraten. Deswegen benötigt es ein intelligente Ladestrategie - und ich kann Ihnen beim Ausschöpfen aller verfügbarer Möglichkeiten helfen, um eben nicht diese 3,4 MB über den Äther zu schicken. Zum Beispiel beim programmatischen Erkennen von Kontexten und Optimierung von Browserfähigkeiten, Medien und Webservern.

Barrierearmut / inklusives Design

Barrierefreiheit ist viel mehr als nur das Anpassen von digitalen Produkten an die Bedürfnisse von Menschen mit Behinderungen. In einer Zeit, wo nach und nach mehr Alltagstätigkeiten im Web stattfinden und gleichzeitig der durchschnittliche Internetnutzer/die durchschnittliche Internetnutzerin immer älter wird, lässt inklusives und empathisches Design schlicht niemanden außen vor – auch nicht potentielle neue Zielgruppen für Sie und Ihr Unternehmen. Denn wie schreibt access-for-all.ch so schön: „[Barrierefreiheit] ist Ausdruck von Kompetenz in Kommunikation und Technik und sie signalisiert, dass Kunden ernst genommen werden“.

Modularer und wartbarer Code

Die Erstellung ist nicht der einzige Kostenfaktor im Lebenszyklus einer Website oder -app. Wenn man Wartungs- und Erweiterungsaufwände über einen Zeitraum zusammenrechnet, enstehen häufig Summen, die die initiale Investion erreichen oder sogar übersteigen. Hier macht eine gelungene technische Planung im Vorfeld den Unterschied: Skaliert Ihr Projekt elegant und geräuschlos, oder erfordert jede Änderung einen Umbau des halben Projekts? Hier helfe ich Ihnen gerne weiter, bares Geld zu sparen. In der Konzeptionsphase denken wir kommenden Wandel und zukünftiges Wachstum Ihrer Website von Anfang an mit.

Leistungen in Stichpunkten

Webentwicklung (Frontend, Backend)

  • HTML und CSS
  • Konventionen: BEM, ITCSS
  • Semantisches Web / Accessibility / OnPage SEO
  • JavaScript / ES2017
  • Vue.js
  • CMS ProcessWire
  • CMS Drupal 7 und 8
  • CMS Kirby
  • PHP-Framework Laravel
  • Progressive Web Apps

Konzeption, Steuerung und Netzwerk

  • Wireframes & Prototyping
  • Informationsarchitektur & Content Strategy
  • Agile Management & Development (Kanban, Certified ScrumMaster)
  • Technisches Projekmanagement
  • Konzeption als einzelnes Leistungspaket, unabhängig von der Umsetzung
  • Netzwerk: Vermittlung zu Screendesignern, Konzeptern und Entwicklern mit Spezialisierungen (beispielsweise WordPress und Typo3)